Chances are high that you will at some point be involved in a collision with an uninsured motorist in Texas. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, 20 percent of all vehicles in the state are uninsured — but in my experience as a personal injury lawyer, it seems like way more. There are far too many people who only make their first payment on their liability policies and let them lapse.
Texas Laws Governing Auto Insurance
Every driver in Texas must carry the mandatory minimum of auto insurance. Driving without insurance could result in up to $350.00 in traffic fines, and up to $1,000.00 in fines and a two years driver’s license suspension for repeat offenders. An uninsured driver who is also unlicensed faces up to $2,000.00 in fines and 180 days in jail. In addition, an uninsured motorist who causes a car accident that results in serious injuries or deaths could be sentenced to incarceration and steep fines.
To comply with the law, a driver’s vehicle must be covered by 30/60/25, which is:
- $30,000 for each injured person in a single accident
- $60,000 for all occupants injured in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Considering the high costs of medical care, you can reach the maximum coverage available very quickly in a crash that causes moderate to serious injuries.
Automobile Insurance Policies that Protect You
You may consider purchasing additional insurance policies beyond basic liability coverage. Options you have to protect yourself from uninsured, underinsured and hit-and-run drivers include:
- Liability covers the injuries and property damage of the occupants of the other vehicle in the accident up to the policy amount.
- Collision covers damages to your car, typically required if you still have a loan.
- Medical covers your medical expenses related to an auto crash.
- Personal injury protection (PIP) covers your medical expenses, lost income and caregiving costs arising from an accident.
- Uninsured/ Underinsured pays for injuries and property damages if the other driver is uninsured, underinsured or flees the accident scene.
Berenson Law Firm Helps You Recover Your Damages When the Other Driver is Uninsured or Underinsured
Getting into an accident is bad enough, but being hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver can put you in financial difficulties, even if the crash was not your fault. However, you may have options.I am pleased to have settled another case this week where we were able to obtain the full $100,000.00 in underinsured benefits for my client in addition to getting the full liability limits of the at-fault driver who initially hit-and-ran, then we slashed the medical bills that our client owed. I have 35 years of experience helping injured drivers. Call us today at 817-885-8000 to schedule your free case evaluation.