Thanksgiving is a DWI No Refusal Weekend in North Texas

Police agencies in Tarrant County will once again be on the lookout for intoxicated drivers and will seek warrants to take blood from motorists who are suspected of DWI but who refuse to take a breath test.

“Our message this holiday season is to plan ahead and have a designated driver if you plan on drinking,” Assistant District Attorney Richard Alpert said. “Jail cells and funeral homes don’t make for happy holiday memories.”

The No Refusal campaign, conducted on major holidays, is funded by a $310,555 grant.

According to Assistant District Attorney Richard Alpert, says that Tarrant County’s relatively new “No Refusal” campaign is incarcerating more DWI drivers, deterring others from drinking and driving, and making our roads safer. I just had the pleasure of meeting Richard on a case I’m working on and he is superlative at his job.

Unfortunately I am representing far too many people and their families to recover their damages for their medical bills, lost wages, property, and pain and suffering.

Blood or breath test results that now scientifically prove the defendant’s intoxication level have led to more guilty pleas and convictions as well as a decrease in the number of traffic fatalities and injuries over the holidays.

In its first five years, the No Refusal program was only used on the July Fourth and New Year’s holiday weekends, but this year it was expanded to six holiday and the Super Bowl weekends.

To keep drunk or negligent driving from ruining your holiday celebration, here are a few reminders to stay safe:

  • Drive in the right lane. Many times drunk drivers drift out of their lane or into oncoming traffic.
  • Avoid late night driving.
  • Choose a designated driver.
  • If there is a young driver in your family, enforce a zero tolerance policy.
  • Never get in the car with an intoxicated driver.
  • Avoid aggressive driving by keeping your emotions in check and focusing on your own driving.

The Law In Texas

A first offense of DWI is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours. If it is proven that the driver had an open container of alcohol in his possession, the offense is a Class B misdemeanor with a minimum term of confinement of six days. If it is shown that the driver’s blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.

Posted in:
Updated:

Comments are closed.

Contact Information